Mandalay,the capital of Mandalay Division, is rich in history and the last royal capital city of Myanmar dynasty It was called as “Yadanabon” during the reign of king Mindon and king Thibaw (king Mindon’s son) Mandalay is only one city in Myanmar that the heritage of Myanmar art and craft can be seen such as ten generics, gold leave work, silk weaving, and bamboo paper work and so on.
Zay Cho Market is the most famous oldest whole sale or retail market in Mandalay as well as in upper Myanmar with full of shopping experiences. Zay Cho means “cheap or reasonable price” in Burmese. It was built in the time of king Mindon in 1897.
Maha Myat Muni Pagoda is at the southwest of Mandalay.It is a major pilgrimage site and also known as “Payagyi” or “the Great Pagoda” built by king Bodawpaya of the Konbaung dynasty in 1785. Maha Myat Muni Image is originally from Arakan, Rakhine.
The famous Mahalawka Marazein Kuthodaw Pagoda is also called thw world’s largest book because there are 729marble slabs regarding about the entire Pali Canon of Buddhism. It is situated at the foot of the southeast stairways to Mandalay Hill.
240 meters (790ft) high Mandalay Hill is located to the northeast of the city center of Mandalay. It is well-known for its plenty pagodas and monasteries. A panoramic view of Mandalay and enjoying sunset from the hill’s peak are the main attraction for the travelers to climb up the Hill.
Mandalay Palace is the last royal palace of the last Burmese monarchy located in Mandalay. It was constructed in teak wood decorated with gold ornaments in 1861 by king Mindon when he moved the city from Amarapura. It was completely destroyed by bombs and fire in World War ll. The new palace was rebuilt in the 1990s with some modern materials
Mandalay Fort wall & moat
Nan Myint Watchtower is within the Mandalay palace compound in 24meters (78ft) high, topped by seven tiered pyatthat. It was used for enjoying the beautiful panorama of the country around, with its river, the bills and lakes by the King and Queen. The Watch Tower escaped from the bombing during World War ll.
Atumashi Kyaung is a Buddhist monastery located in the northeast of Mandalay originally built in A.D 1857 by King Mindon. The meaning of “Atumashi” is “incomparable” and “Kyaung” is “monastery”. It was rebuilt in 1996 by the Burmese archaeological department according to the old version.
Shwenandaw (Golden Palace) Monastery is next door to Atumashi Kyaung. Its architectural masterpiece art is showing Myanmar architectures’ remarkable teak carving skill of 19th century. The single remaining original structure of the original Royal Palace was built in 1880 by king Thibaw who was the last king of Burmese Monarchy.
Vicinity around Mandalay
Amarapura, now a township of Mandalay, was founded by king Bodawpaya of the Konbaung Dynasty as his new capital in May 1783 situated 11 km south of Mandalay. This popular day-trip from Mandalay is known for its historical destinations and its tradition silk and cotton weaving, and bronze casting.
Kyaukdawgyi Pagoda, a Buddhist pagoda, is located in Amarapura, near the Taungthaman Lake built in 1847 by king Pagan Min in the same style of the Ananda Pagoda at Bagan.
Pahtodawgyi is also known Mingun Paya which is an incomplete stupa in Mingun, about 10 km northwest of Mandalay begun by king Bodawpaya in1790.It was intentionally unfinished. Bodawpaya also casted a gigantic bronze bell to put at his enormous stupa known as Mingun Bell (the second largest ringing bell in the world) weighting 55,555 viss.
Maha Weyan Bontha Bagaya Oke (brick) Kyaung originally was a teak wooden monastery built in 1593 about 18km from present-Mandalay by Maha Thiri Zeya THinkhaya( a town officer of Magwe).The government reconstructed it in 1992 as the new brick building because a great baneful fire burnt it down on 15 April 1821.
Maha Gandayon Kyaung was founded in 1914 in Amarapura. The one-thousand-plus monks, including the novices, are learning the disciplined ways of Buddhist monk life according to the course of Buddha. The visitor are not allowed to make noises in the surrounding of the monastery because those who are meditating while they are walking, sitting, lying or eating.
U Bein Bridge is one of the popular tourist attractions in Amarapura (the ancient city) near Mandalay. The beautiful 1.2 km wooden bridge is built across Taungthaman Lake by local mayor “U Bein” in 1857.The best photo opportunities will be given at sunset.
Taungthaman Lake is located in Amarapura near Mandalay. The renowned U Bein Bridge stretches over the lake. At this interesting lake, observing the living style of fishermen is one kind of experience and the visitor can also take a boat ride along to watch the salubrious and scenic beauty of this lake especially at the glow of the sunset.
Sagaing Hill is famous for locating uncountable pagodas, monasteries and meditation centers. The oldest Soon Oo Ponya Shin Pagoda is on the top of the hill, built early 14th century. The visitors get a great view of Sagaing and the Irrawaddy River.
Ava’s present name is Inwa which is also called Ratanapura City meaning “city of gems”. It was founded in 1364 as the capital city of Myanmar by a Shan Prince, Thadominpaya and It was destroyed by the Mon in 1752.
Maha Aungmye Bonzan Monastery @Me Nu Oke Kyaung was built by king Bagyidaw’s wife, Me Nu in 1818 for the royal abbot named Nyaunggan Sayadaw.
Nanmyint watch tower (Ava), one of the Myanmar architectural designs of early19th century, is 30m high in average built in 1822 by king Bagyidaw.
Kaunghmudaw Pagoda is renowned for its egg-shaped design with 46 meters height, 274 meters circumference and 7.92 meters high umbrella which weighs3.5 kg. It was begun to construct in 1636 during the reign of king Thalun and completed in 1648.